#20 Berlin Climate Talks: The Road to COP27 – Climate Justice from Petersberg to Sharm el Sheikh

At the #20 Berlin Climate Talks (#20 Berliner Klimagespräche) on Wednesday July 20 2022, we talked about expectations for this year's UN Climate Change Conference (COP27) in Egypt with very exciting and high-level speakers. Voices from the international civil society have enriched the discussion with their perspectives.

Watch the live recording here:

With the following guests:

  • Jennifer Morgan, State Secretary and Special Envoy for International Climate Action, German Federal Foreign Office
  • Ambassador Wael Aboulmagd, Special Representative for COP27 President Designate
  • Ambassador Mohamed Nasr, Lead Negotiator and Head of Climate, Environment and Sustainable Development Department, Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • Christoph Bals, Policy Director Germanwatch, member of the speaker board of Climate Alliance Germany
  • Dr. Camilla Bausch, Scientific & Executive Director Ecologic Institute

With short interventions from German and international civil society:

  • Adora Rengelchad Nobuo, Friends of Palau National Marine Sanctuary, from Palau
  • Safiatou Nana, CESAO, from Benin
  • Nana Jojo Solomon, Acting President of Ghana National Canoe Fishermen Council in Ghana
  • Patricia Bohland, Life e.V., from Germany and
  • Gabriel Klaasen, Project 90 by 2030, from South Africa.

Welcome and introduction: Dr. Christiane Averbeck, Managing Director of Klima-Allianz Deutschland e.V.

Moderator: Christine Mhundwa

The event took place in cooperation with the following members of Klima-Allianz Deutschland: Environmental Justice Foundation (EJF), Fairtrade Deutschland, Germanwatch, Katholische Landjugendbewegung Deutschlands (KLJB), LIFE, MISEREOR, Oxfam Deutschland, Women Engage for a Common Future (WECF), WWF Deutschland.


Diese Veranstaltung wurde gefördert durch das Umweltbundesamt und das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, nukleare Sicherheit und Verbraucherschutz. Die Mittelbereitstellung erfolgt auf Beschluss des Deutschen Bundestages.